Morozov Dmitry (::vtol::)

vtol

Moscow-based media artist, musician and engineer. He works in the field of technological art: robotics, sound art, science art.
Took part in 4th Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, exhibitions at NCCA, MMOMA, Central Exhibition Hall Manege, Laboratoria Art&Science Space, Electromuseum, Garage museum of contemporary art, ZKM (Germany). Laureate of the Sergei Kuryokhin Prize (2013) and Prix Cube (France, 2014). Honorary mentions at the Ars Electronica (Austria, 2015 and 2016) award.

“12 262″ 

The multimedia installation “12 262 ” is a dedication to the legendary Soviet project SG-3—the Kola Superdeep Borehole, located several dozen kilometers away from the city of Zapolyarny, Murmansk region. When the Soviet Union collapsed, this research-oriented borehole was the deepest in the world. After the operation stopped, the borehole was abandoned and its ruins became a touristic destination for rare pilgrims.
Several years ago, the artist took an opportunity to visit the borehole and found a roll of punched tape within the ruined laboratories. This roll, extracted from a computer at the scientific station, became the starting point for the creation of this work.
The project is a sound installation that uses data decoded from a punched tape in real time. The installation’s master controller directed by a special algorithm gradually deciphers the tape and gives commands to five kinetic sound generators, which are miniature drilling mechanisms. After receiving the command, each of them starts drilling small samples of the rock from the borehole. After the closure of the station, became a prize for geology lovers, and the artist managed to obtain some from the auctions and collectors.
The drilling sound is amplified, processed, and thereby becomes the base for the infinite sound composition created by the object.

The artist further went to visit the station and installed the artwork over the close shaft, to resume the drilling process after 28 years of downtime.

Морозов Дмитрий ::vtol::

vtolМосковский медиахудожник, работает в технологических жанрах искусства: робототехнике, саунд-арт и science art. Участник 4-й Московской биеннале современного искусства, выставок в ГЦСИ, ММОМА, Манеж, Laboratoria, Электромузей, Гараж, ZKM (Германия), Boulder Museum of Contemporary Art (США). Лауреат Премии Сергея Курёхина (2013) и Премии Cube (Франция, 2014), почетные упоминания премии Ars Electronica (Австрия, 2015 и 2016).

«12 262″

Мультимедийная инсталляция ″12 262″ — посвящение легендарному советскому проекту СГ-3 — Кольской сверхглубокой скважине, которая располагается в нескольких десятках километров от города Заполярный, в Мурманской области. На момент развала СССР эта научно-исследовательская скважина была самой глубокой в мире. После прекращения работ скважина была заброшена, ее руины стали труднодоступным местом паломничества редких туристов.
Автору инсталляции удалось побывать на скважине, и среди разбитых лабораторий он нашёл рулон перфоленты от одной из вычислительных машин, располагавшихся на научной станции. Этот рулон стал отправной точкой в создании данной работы.
Проект представляет собой звуковую инсталляцию, в реальном времени использующую данные, расшифрованные с этой компьютерной перфоленты. Считывая данные, главный контроллер инсталляции по специальному алгоритму отдаёт команды пяти кинетическим звуковым генераторам, которые представляют собой миниатюрные буровые механизмы. Получив команду, каждый из буров начинает сверлить небольшие образцы породы из скважины, которые автор инсталляции выкупал на аукционах и у коллекционеров. Звук бурения усиливается, обрабатывается и становится основой для бесконечной звуковой композиции, создаваемой объектом.
Позже автор отправился на станцию и установил инсталляцию над шахтой, чтобы спустя 28 лет после остановки возобновить бурение.