Lecture by A. Shatskikh: “The View from Above” in the Metaphysics of the Russian Avantgarde

The ArtChronika Cultural Foundation, as part of the Kandinsky Prize programme, presents a lecture by prominent Russian avant-garde scholar and a leading scholar on the works of Kazimir Malevich and Marc Chagall, Aleksandra Shatskikh, PhD.

Topic: “The View from Above” in the Metaphysics of the Russian Avantgarde.

This lecture will touch on aspects of the work of Kazimir Malevich, El Lissitzky, Nikolai Suetin, Ilya Chashkin, Gustav Klutsis, and other artists whose works feature “projections from above” as an embodiment of a distinctly avant-garde approach to the reordering of the universe.
Aleksandra Shatskikh, a world-renowned expert, has determined the exact date when the painting “Black Square” in her book “Kazimir Malevich and the Supremus Society,” published in 2009, where she also presented a reconstruction of the only issue of the journal “Supremus”, to not be published in 1917.
Aleksandra Shatskikh is the author of a dozen books and more than 250 publications on the Russian avant-garde, which have been translated into 13 languages and are included in 981 library collections. Aleksandra Semyonovna has been a visiting professor at some of the largest universities in Europe and the US.

Лекция А. Шатских: «Взгляд с высоты» в метафизике русского авангарда».

Культурный Фонд «АртХроника», в рамках образовательной программы Премии Кандинского, представляет лекцию известного исследователя русского авангарда, ведущего специалиста по творчеству Казимира Малевича и Марка Шагала, доктора искусствоведения Александры Шатских.

Тема: «Взгляд с высоты» в метафизике русского авангарда».

В лекции будут затронуты аспекты творчества Каземира Малевича, Эль Лисицкого, Николая Суетина, Ильи Чашника, Густава Клуциса и других художников, в работах которых «проекции сверху» стали воплощением специфически авангардистской концепции переустройства мироздания.

Александра Шатских, специалист с мировым именем, установила точную дату создания картины«Чёрный квадрат», а в своей книге «Казимир Малевич и общество Супремус», вышедшей в 2009 году, представила реконструкцию единственного номера, так и не вышедшего в 1917 году журнала «Супремус» .

Александра Шатских – автор десятка книг и более 250 публикаций, посвященных русскому авангарду, которые переведены на тринадцать языков мира и хранятся в 981 библиотечном фонде. Александра Семеновна является приглашенным профессором крупнейших университетов Европы и США.

Лекция состоится 10 декабря в «Ударнике».

Начало в 19.30.

Адрес: «Ударник», ул. Серафимовича, дом 2.

Обязательна регистрация по e-mail: pr@kandinsky-prize.org с пометкой «Лекция Шатских» в теме письма.