BREUS Foundation announced the results of the first stage of the architectural competition of the project “Udarnik”

The international cultural organisation BREUS Foundation* announces the list of architecture firms to enter a competition for developing the project of the Museum of Contemporary Russian Art in the Udarnik cinema building

On the 10th of April, 2014, the representatives of the major architecture firms will arrive in Moscow at the behest of the BREUS Foundation to participate in the final stage of the closed competition for developing the project of the Museum of Contemporary Russian Art in the Udarnik Cinema Building. Their works are internationally renowned, the objects they created are now part of the history of architecture: Arata Isozaki & Associates (Japan), Designed by Erick van Egeraat (Netherlands), Stephan Braunfels Architekten (Germany), Emre Arolat Architects (Turkey), John McAslan + Partners (UK), Robbrecht en Daem architecten (Belgium). The architects will hold two days’ workshop in the Udarnik building to present in June 2014 their own concepts of the reconstruction and creation of a new museum complex out of the Constructivist landmark.

The mission of the International cultural organisation BREUS Foundation, as of an institution, is to explore and systematize the contemporary Russian art, to promote it in Russia and abroad. The most significant projects of the foundation are the Kandinsky Prize, the programme of the BREUS publishing house for the release of fundamental monographs on contemporary Russian artists and of books on the theory and the history of the contemporary Russian art and the main project — the opening of the Museum of Contemporary Russian Art in the Udarnik building. The chairman of the foundation Mr. Shalva Breus notes, “The activity of the foundation will secure the development of the fundamentals for preservation, exploration and expansion of the Russian art and for its canonization as an important part of the national and the world culture”.

The international cultural organisation BREUS Foundation announced the competition and selected six architecture firms from Japan, Europe and America that have experience in delivery of large-scale museum projects and renovation of architectural landmarks. The winner is to be decided by an authoritative international jury formed by the architecture, contemporary art and monument protection experts: Shalva Breus, Head of BREUS Foundation, Mrs. Maria Tsantsanoglou, Director of the State Museum of Contemporary Art in Thessaloniki, Mr. Bart de Baere, Director of the Museum of Modern Art in Antwerp, Jean-Louis Cohen, Head of the Foundation Le Corbusier, Jean-Hubert Martin, an international curator and former Director of the Centre Pompidou in Paris, Sergei Kapkov, Head of the Moscow Department of Culture, Alexandr Kibovsky, Head of the Moscow Department of Cultural Heritage and Sergei Kuznetsov, Chief Architect of Moscow.

The jury will decide the first three winners of the architectural competition. However, that does not suggest that the winner will receive the contract for the reconstruction project of the Udarnik building. In accordance with the competition rules, representatives of BREUS Foundation have to negotiate with the architecture firms in a the form of a competitive dialogue in order to determine the ultimate author of the reconstruction project. There will be various selection criteria among which engineering feasibility and financial viability are the key ones.

BREUS Foundation has hired Avesta as a consultancy of the project as it is well-known for its work with world’s largest cultural centres and museums including the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Louvre Abu Dhabi, the Contemporary Art Center Punta della Dogana in Venice, the Liechtenstein National Museum, the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, the Perm Museum of Contemporary Art PERMM and others.

A few years will pass between choosing the architectural concept and the opening of the museum. During that time the Kandinsky Prize will continue its work along with the BREUS Publishing House, which has started off with the release of a monograph on Boris Orlov — the first one in the series on the work of the most significant Russian artists — and The Alien — a work by Ekaterina Bobrinskaya, Doctor of Fine Arts, and has plans to publish monographs on Erik Bulatov, Vitaly Komar and Alexander Melamid.

BREUS Foundation is to present the results of the competition and the reconstruction project to the general public in June 2014.

* The international cultural organisation BREUS Foundation is the new name for the ArtChronika Cultural Foundation, which is used as of 2014.

press release

BREUS Foundation объявил результаты первого этапа архитектурного конкурса проекта «Ударник»

Международный культурный фонд BREUS Foundation* объявляет имена архитектурных бюро, которые примут участие в конкурсе на разработку проекта Музея современного российского искусства в «Ударнике»

10 апреля 2014 года в Москву по приглашению Международного культурного фонда BREUS Foundation приедут представители крупнейших архитектурных бюро, чтобы принять участие в конкурсе на разработку проекта Музея современного российского искусства в здании «Ударника». Их работы знают во всем мире, созданные ими объекты вошли в историю архитектуры: Arata Isozaki & Associates (Япония), Stephan Braunfels Architekten (Германия), Designed by Erick van Egeraat (Нидерланды), Emre Arolat Architects (Турция), John McAslan + Partners (Великобритания), Robbrecht en Daem architecten (Бельгия). В течение двух дней архитекторы проведут воркшоп в «Ударнике» и уже в июне 2014 года представят собственные концепции реставрации памятника конструктивизма и создания нового музейного комплекса.

Международный культурный фонд BREUS Foundation — институция, миссия которой исследование, систематизация современного российского искусства, продвижение его в нашей стране и за рубежом. Основные проекты фонда — «Премия Кандинского», программа издательства BREUS по изданию фундаментальных монографий о современных художниках России, книг по теории и истории современного русского искусства и — главный проект — открытие Музея современного российского искусства в здании «Ударника». Глава BREUS Foundation Шалва Бреус отметил: «Деятельность фонда позволит создать фундаментальную базу для сохранения, изучения, продвижения российского современного искусства, канонизировать его как важную часть национальной и мировой культуры».

Международный культурный фонд BREUS Foundation объявил конкурс и выбрал 6 архитектурных бюро из Японии, Европы, Америки, имеющих опыт реализации крупномасштабных музейных проектов и реконструкции архитектурных памятников. Победителя конкурса определит авторитетное международное жюри. В его состав вошли эксперты в области архитектуры, современного искусства, охраны памятников: глава BREUS Foundation Шалва Бреус, директор Музея современного искусства в Салониках Мария Цанцаноглу, директор Государственного музея современного искусства в Антверпене Барт де Баре, крупнейший историк архитектуры, глава Фонда Ле Корбюзье Жан-Луи Коэн, международный куратор, экс-директор парижского Центра Помпиду Жан-Юбер Мартен, руководитель Департамента культуры города Москвы Сергей Капков, руководитель Департамента культурного наследия города Москвы Александр Кибовский, главный архитектор Москвы Сергей Кузнецов.
Жюри выберет первую тройку победителей архитектурного конкурса. Однако победитель не обязательно получит контракт на проект реконструкции «Ударника». Согласно условиям конкурса, представители BREUS Foundation будут должны провести переговоры с архитектурными бюро (competitive dialogue) и окончательно определить автора проекта реконструкции. Критерии отбора будет разные; ключевые из них — возможность технической реализации и финансовая составляющая.

В качестве консультанта проекта BREUS Foundation привлек международную консалтинговую компанию Avesta, имеющую историю партнерства с крупнейшими мировыми культурными центрами и музеями. Среди них — Лувр и Центр Помпиду в Париже, Лувр в Абу-Даби, Центр современного искусства Пунта делла Догана в Венеции, ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина, Пермский музей современного искусства PERMM и многие другие.

От выбора архитектурной концепции до открытия музея пройдет несколько лет. В это время продолжит работу «Премия Кандинского» и издательство BREUS, стартовавшее первой монографией в серии о творчестве крупнейших российских художников: книгой Бориса Орлова, а также работой доктора искусствоведения Екатерины Бобринской «Чужие». В планах — выпуск монографий Эрика Булатова, Виталия Комара и Александра Меламида.

Результаты архитектурного конкурса и проект реконструкции будут уже в июне 2014 года представлены Международным культурным фондом BREUS Foundation широкой общественности.

* Международный культурный фонд BREUS Foundation — новое название Культурного фонда «АртХроника», которое используется фондом с 2014 года.

пресс-релиз