Pictures at an Exhibition – Project by Young Russian Composers

The ArtChronika Cultural Foundation and the Moscow Conservatorium’s Centre for Contemporary Music present the project “Pictures at an Exhibition” by young Russian composers.

Young Russian composers taking part in the joint project will present their compositions dedicated to the work of artists nominated for the Kandinsky Prize in 2013. The project idea and title were taken from M. Mussogorsky’s suite “Pictures at an Exhibit,” which inspired one of Kandinsky’s stage compositions in 1928.

On December 20th the Conservatorium will host a concert attended by the artists, featuring the first performance of the pieces, preceded by a talk with the composers, artists, art critics, and music scholars.

Participants: composers – Natalya Prokopenko, Anna Romashkova, Yelena Rykova, Denis Khorov, Alexander Khubeev, and Kirill Shirokov composing musical pieces based on the works of Prize nominees Sofiya Gavrilova and Alexei Korsi, Yevgeniya Granilschikova, Anna Zhelud, Dmitry Kavargi, Nikolai Nasedkin, and the art group Recycle.

Music scholar and critic Vladislav Tarnopolsky is curating the project. The concert is being held as part of the XIV Moscow Forum International Festival of Contemporary Music

Проект молодых российских композиторов «ARTинки с выставки».

Культурный Фонд «АртХроника» и Центр современной музыки Московской Консерватории представляют проект молодых российских композиторов «ARTинки с выставки».

В рамках совместного проекта молодые российские композиторы представят свои сочинения, посвященные работам художников-номинантов Премии Кандинского-2013. Идею и название проекта подсказал знаменитый цикл М.Мусоргского «Картинки с выставки», который вдохновил В.Кандинского на создание в 1928 году сценической композиции.

20 декабря состоится концерт в Консерватории, на котором в присутствии художников пройдет первое исполнение сочинений. Концерту будет предшествовать дискуссия с участием композиторов, художников, искусствоведов и музыковедов.

Участники: композиторы Наталья Прокопенко, Анна Ромашкова, Елена Рыкова, Денис Хоров, Александр Хубеев и Кирилл Широков пишут сочинения по работам номинантов Премии Софьи Гавриловой и Алексея Корси, Евгения Гранильщикова, Анны Желудь, Дмитрия Каварги, Николая Наседкина и арт-группы Recycle.

Куратор проекта: музыковед и критик Владислав Тарнопольский.
Концерт состоится в рамках XIV Международного фестиваля современной музыки «Московский форум».

Вход на концерт и дискуссию свободный!
Адрес: Московская консерватория, ул. Большая Никитская, дом 13 (Рахманиновский зал, Конференц-зал).

Расписание мероприятий в рамках проекта:
Дискуссия «Взаимодействие визуального и музыкального» 16:00, Конференц-зал.
Концерт «ARTинки с выставки» 18:00, Рахманиновский зал.

пресс-релиз