Recycle Group (Krasnodar, Russia) was formed by Andrey Blokhin (1987) and Georgy Kuznetsov (1985) in 2006. Since 2008, the artists have regularly participated in various group shows in Moscow, St. Petersburg and other cities of Russia. Since 2010, works by the art-group are regularly showcased in international galleries and various contemporary art spaces in France, Italy, Great Britain, USA and Belgium. The artists participated in program of la Biennale di Venezia 2011, 2013 and 2015.

The project CONVERSION, that refers to the life of a modern man as it is in the age of the world web and new gadgets. The artists compare the globalization of information networks to the conversion to some new ‘religion’ where the scope of information available in the virtual space is a new presiding deity.
The project CONVERSION includes sculptures and bas-reliefs, in which figures of ‘Neo-Apostles’ appear as the bearers of a new sacred knowledge manifested in the stream of virtual information. The display also includes ‘wooden remnants’ of Noah’s Ark, with familiar icons from smartphone screens identifiable in its fragments. To make sculptures of the presumed ‘saints’, the preachers of the new technologies, as well as multi-figured bas-reliefs the artists make use of polyurethane, plastic mesh, rubber, polyethylene and new technologies. Rubbish becomes art to be kept for future generations, while the artists seek to give their viewers an idea of the future traces to be left by the paradoxes of our own age, of what will go down in history. Their sculptures and bas-reliefs take on the appearance of ancient monuments that display the ravages of time, as if artifacts from some lost and forgotten civilization.
The forms and compositions of CONVERSION project are influenced by traditional Christian iconography, yet they are disseminated by contemporary motifs like the info graphics of modern gadgets and app logos.

RECYCLE GROUP

Краснодарская арт-группа Recycle Group основана в 2006 Андреем Блохиным (1987) и Георгием Кузнецовым (1985). С 2008 художники регулярно участвуют в групповых выставках в Москве, Санкт-Петербурге и других городах России. С 2010 арт-группа активно выставляется в международных галереях и на различных площадках современного искусства во Франции, Италии, Великобритании, США, Бельгии. Художники являются участниками программы Венецианской биеннале 2011, 2013 и 2015 годов.

Тотальная инсталляция «CONVERSION» повествует о жизни современного человека в эпоху развития Интернета и бесконечной смены новых гаджетов. Художники в своем проекте сравнивают подключение к глобальной сети с обрядом обращения в религию, где главное божество — это сумма всей информации, находящейся в виртуальном пространстве.
В проект «CONVERSION» вошли скульптуры и барельефы, на которых фигуры «неоапостолов» предстают носителями нового сакрального знания, существующего в потоке виртуальной информации. Экспозицию дополняют деревянные «останки» Ноева ковчега, в фрагментах которого угадываются знакомые иконки приложений с экранов смартфонов. Для создания скульптур «святых», проповедников новых технологий и многофигурных барельефов художники используют резину, пластиковую сетку, полиэтилен и современные технологии. Мусор становится искусством и сохраняется для будущих поколений, а взгляд зрителей художники направляют на то, как будут выглядеть свидетельства парадоксов нашей эпохи в будущем, что из них останется в истории. Формы и композиционные особенности работ отсылают к традиционной христианской иконографии, в которой присутствуют элементы современности — в виде иконок электронных устройств и логотипов приложений. Скульптуры и барельефы принимают вид древних памятников, в которых, словно в артефактах некой ушедшей и забытой цивилизации, видна опустошающая сила времени.