Tatyana Ilyina

ilinaBorn in 1984 in Moscow. Graduated from the Moscow College of Information Technology (2002), Moscow Independent University of Ecology and Political Science (2006) with a specialization in journalism, and the photography school of the All-Russia State University of Cinematography (2008). Master classes with Sergei Maksimishin (2008) and Vladimir Vyatkin (2008). Student at the Rodchenko Moscow School of Photography and Multimedia.

Psychiatric hospital in Abkhasia

The conditions in the hospital are extremely hard. Many of the patients we met took part in the war between Georgia and Abkhazia. Those people are respected very much, we heard a great deal about them, and visitors are allowed to see them before anyone else. But there are others — with different fates and characters.
The first person we ran into was a former boxing master. He was in the hospital together with his brothers. The doctors spoke about him warmly and kindly. When he saw us he said: “There are no mentally ill people here because they have no God.” He spoke beautifully and at length, and always, at the most unexpected moment, appeared in a black coat with raised collar and looked at us kindly and mysteriously.
We were surprised to discover how people can live in terrible conditions without noticing anything, living in their own world, not complaining, and being sincerely happy because somebody came to visit them.

Татьяна Ильина

ilinaРодилась в 1984 году в Москве. Окончила Московский колледж информационных технологий (2002) и Московский независимый эколого-политологический университет как журналист (2006), фотошколу Всероссийского государственного университета кинематографии (2008). Мастер­класс Сергея Максимишина (2008). Мастер-класс Владимира Вяткина (2008). Студентка Московской школы фотографии и мультимедиа им. Родченко.

Психиатрическая больница в Дранде (Абхазия).

В больнице крайне тяжелые условия для жизни. Многие из тех, кого мы там встретили, принимали участие в грузино-абхазской войне. Эти люди пользуются особенным уважением, о них охотно рассказывают, к ним разрешают пройти в первую очередь. Но есть и другие — с различными судьбами и характерами.
Первый, кто нам случайно повстречался, — бывший мастер спорта по боксу, попал в больницу вместе со своими братьями. Врачи отзывались о нем тепло и добродушно. А сам он, как только увидел нас, сказал: «Здесь нет душевнобольных, потому что у них нет Бога». Он вообще много и красиво говорил и появлялся всегда в самый неожиданный момент, в черном пальто с поднятым воротником, и смотрел на нас своим загадочным и добрым взглядом.
Удивительно было наблюдать, как в таких ужасных условиях люди могут, не замечая ничего, жить в собственном мире, ни на что не жаловаться, искренне радоваться, переживать и быть по-настоящему счастливыми уже от того, что к ним кто-то пришел.