The award was established in 2007 on Shalva Breus’ initiative, the president of the International Cultural Found – BREUS Foundation. We have followed a tradition of naming the award after a distinguished artist. Kandinsky is more than a painter, he is a symbol of novelty and a historical figure in our culture, his heritage has provided a solid foundation for cultural exchange in the world of art. The Kandinsky Prize objectives are: the support and development of Russian contemporary art and securing of its positions not only in Russia but also on the world stage.

The Kandinsky Prize fund is 50 thousand euros, which corresponds with international practice in the sphere of contemporary art prizes, such as the Turner Prize in the UK or the Marcel Duchamp Prize in France.

The prize is awarded in the following nominations:

–”Project of the Year” – 1 800 000 rubles.
–”Young Artist of the Year” (under 35) – 450 000 rubles.
–”Scholarly work. History and theory of contemporary art” – the prize in this category is the russian and english publications of the work.

Any Russian artist without exception may be the candidate for the Kandinsky Prize: the receipt of applications from the participants based on the principle of self-nomination. The winners are determined by an international jury, with the participation of the council of experts. Over the past seven years the winners in the main nomination were: Anatoly Osmolovsky (2007), Alexey Beliayev-Guintovt (2008), Vadim Zakharov (2009), Alexander Brodsky (2010), Yriy Albert (2011), AES+F group (2012), Grisha Bruskin (2012), Irina Nakhova (2013), Pavel Pepperstein (2014), Andrey Filippov (2015), Andrey Kuzkin (2016).

Aside from monetary compensation, artists receive an opportunity to participate in exibitions. The Prize wasn’t intended to be a one-time event, but a continual working process, including not only presentation of awards, but also shows in Moscow and abroad. The Kandinsky Prize nominees’ exhibitions are among the most significant events in Russian cultural life. In 2011 the Prize exhibition at the Central House of Artists in Moscow was attended by more than 35,000 people – an absolute record for one of the largest exhibition venues in Russia. Starting in 2012, the exhibitions were held in “Udarnik”, where the Foundation plans to create the Museum of Russian Contemporary Art.

The works of the finalists and the winners of the Kandinsky Prize were exhibited with a great success in Riga, Berlin, London and Barcelona.

Kandinsky Prize ceremonies traditionally attract the attention by vivid performances (special performances for the cememony were presented by: Robert Wilson, Gao Brothers, Jake and Dinos Chapman, Marina Abramovic, Lev Rubinstein) and the lectures of famous art theorists – Valery Podoroga, Boris Groys, Robert Storr, Tim Marlow, Peter Greenaway and Alexandra Shatskih.

Along with the British Turner Prize and the French Marcel Duchamp Prize, Kandinsky Prize is considered to be one of the most important national awards in the contemporary art field.

Онлайн казино Vavada: вход и регистрация Вавада, высокие кэшбэки, мобильное приложение, лучшие слоты!